The earliest record of the Chateau of Murviel les Béziers is 1057. Located at the top of the medieval village of Murviel les Beziers it was designed as a fortress from where the Lords of Murviel had a perfect view of their lands and vineyards that flank the river Orb.
The Northern wing was renovated in the fourteenth century. It is entirely dedicated to our guests, and hosts’ five very well appointed ensuite bedrooms. The Southern wing completed in 1602, and boasts a large balcony runs almost the entire façade. Exclusive to our guests, it is here that an evening aperitif is taken before dinner, watching the sunset over the lush green landscape below them and superb views of the Pyrenees in the distant horizon.
The four wings of the castle protect a private interior courtyard that offers both sunshine and shade at any given time of the day. It is a very peaceful and comfortable environment. From breakfast until late evening, the only noise you will hear are the Church bells of the Roman Church beside us, or the occasional announcement from City Hall that begins with “Allo Allo”.
Consistent in the evolution of the history of the Chateau is hospitality. Our large entrance doorway under the southern arch has always been opened to visitors for centuries. It is with great pleasure that we continue this tradition.